Hammond Street Developments Pty Ltd


07 Aug 2015

In 2009 the Australian Federal Government endorsed the Online and Communications Council’s (OCC) recommendation that all Federal, State, and Territorial websites meet WCAG 2.0 Level A standards by December of 2012 and pass WCAG 2.0 Level AA standards by December of 2014.

What does this mean?
It means that users with low or no vision and users with mobility disabilities need and should have the same opportunity to access and use government websites that all other Australians do.  This comes in the form of accessibility for screen reader tools, font and colour choices that do not have extreme blurring when the screen size is enhanced, and linear tab orders to eliminate erratic focus.

How does this affect my website?
HSD has three staff members who have been trained by Vision Australia to ensure that every external web system we have started designing since 2012 for any government institution passes these Level AA standards as set out.

How can HSD help you?
Please contact us with any questions you have about how your website can be used by all Australians!

back to News Index